PAIL Monthly Theme Post – “Looking Back”

As I near the end of the second trimester of my second pregnancy, I’ve been doing a lot of looking back, so it seems rather fitting to take part in this month’s monthly themed post.

Where was I one June ago? I was just getting used to being a new mom to my little Bean, welcoming my Indian in-laws into our home to meet Bean for the first time, experimenting with feeding Bean solid foods, and reclaiming sleep – outside of my brief nighttime waking to pump and help Sho tend to Bean.  Actually, in a funny turn of events, my sister-in-law and nephew who were here last June, are actually here again this June for a visit and a summer school program at Harvard respectively.

Two Junes ago?  I was patiently awaiting the birth of my first baby, moving across the country, traveling to London and Paris for the first time, and desperately seeking an apartment in the Boston area.  That was a pretty crazy summer.

Three Junes ago?  Sho had just left to intern in NY while I stayed behind in Chicago for the summer (meaning at least two lost cycles were in my future).  It was just sinking in that something was not quite working in our whole getting pregnant plan, yet no doctor seemed particularly concerned or interested in my fears or mixture of symptoms.  Months and cycles were passing with nothing but ovarian cysts, acne and weight gain, but hey, I was “young,” “healthy,” etc. etc.  Nothing to worry about, right?  We should just keep trying and not stressing and sure enough we would be pregnant in no time.  Yeah, that wasn’t the best June.

Where am I today?  How has my life changed?  Hmm, how hasn’t it changed?  Today I am 23 weeks pregnant with a little boy who I am sure will change my life in a million ways.  I have a beautiful, funny, intelligent, adorable little girl, who makes me laugh and smile every day.  I am pregnant, and I didn’t have a doctor’s help to make me pregnant…this still confuses me on a daily basis.  It’s a busy, happy June.

About uncommonnonsense1

Stay at home mom of two.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to PAIL Monthly Theme Post – “Looking Back”

  1. Pingback: monthly theme, June 2013: “looking back” post listing – PAIL Bloggers

  2. LisaB says:

    Amazing to look back and see how much things have changed! I am super excited & happy for you!

Leave a Reply

